Snow Rage

I hate you :(

I hate you 😦

Do you get Snow Rage? Not even sure that is a thing, but I am certainly feeling it. Shoveling the driveway is fast becoming my most hated household task, even worse than vacuuming and cleaning the hair out of my bathroom sink plug. (Seriously, that was nasty. What the heck were the previous tenants doing? Stuffing Furbies down the drain?)

I think it’s because the work feels Sisyphean. I shovel. It snows. I shovel again. It snows. I shovel again and it starts snowing before I finish. It’s never ending, and it doesn’t help that the snowplow has decided to pile up all the snow from the street at the end of my driveway, in this huge icy rock mound thing that is slowly consuming the rest of my driveway in a ravenous bid to ensure that I never leave the house again (wait, maybe that’s not so bad). Every morning is a study in trigonometry and geometry as I endeavor to swing my car into the one angle that doesn’t back me into this snow monster and lets me into the street. I don’t even have space to put my garage cans anymore—this week I just took the bags out and piled them by the mailbox.

Yesterday, in a fit of pique, I grabbed my shovel and hacked at the snow mound like I was rather clumsy and inept knight trying to slay a dragon. I managed to chip off a sad, sad chunk that was promptly replaced by the additional 4 inches we got last night.

I think it laughed at me.

4 thoughts on “Snow Rage

  1. Pingback: 2015 Winter Storm Juno | Just Two More Things...

  2. The snow and ice will melt, and for a couple weeks you’ll have a really soggy, muddy yard, you know. I think I’d take the snow. Also, has Mango ventured out to the pile? He’d look really cute perched on the top.

  3. It sure has been a weird winter and we are all experiencing a bit of cabin fever. I can totally relate to the frustration of shoveling never ending snow. On the bright side, all the excess amount of snow and the extreme cold should kill bugs and bring bright spring flowers :-).

Leave a comment