Trip: Washington, D.C.

I have made entirely too many trips to DC this year.  It’s a nice city, for sure, and easily accessible by train if you live on the East Coast, but this is the third time I’ve been there and they’ve all been for business reasons.  I’m starting to associate the place with unwanted chores.

The timing was unlucky, too, since, to break up the bad associations, I went for a long weekend that turned out to be just after the government shutdown.  So no National Mall, no museums (except for the private Spy Museum, which was fun but which did only take up a couple hours) and no street traffic to watch.  The weather was bad as well, drizzling and cold.  So this trip ended up being basically about eating.  Jackson 20 in old Alexandria was decent foodwise, but served some of the worst cocktails I have ever refused to finish.  Seriously, my carrot/gin one somehow ended up tasting like liquefied cotton candy crossed with pina colada.  Daikaya Ramen was solid but unspectacular, a good bowl on a rainy afternoon, while Pearl Dive Oyster Palace was genius whether they were frying, grilling, or stewing their oysters.  And the Jaleo tasting menu (Jaleo Experience) was both one of the most delicious and most painful meals of my life.  It’s a bad idea to wear a tight waistband if you’re having a tasting menu.  But still, the stomach pains were worth it.