Roadtrip: Camden, Maine

New Hampshire was next, but we made a quick lunch pitstop at Camden, Maine, yet another little seashore tourist haven.  It had a pretty little harbor and some lazy waterfowl napping on the rocks:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We ate at Cappy’s Chowder House, which finally gave me the intense, garlicky, briny steamed clams I’d been yearning for.  Very little grit and each clam burst in your mouth like an overripe fruit.  And the garlic.  I scrubbed and scrubbed my hands afterward, but smelled it under my nails for the rest of the day.

Steamed clams, Cappy's Chowder House

Steamed clams, Cappy’s Chowder House

Also, a good, greaselessly crunchy fried clam po’boy, a cute mini crab roll that could’ve used more seasoning (specifically, salt), and a good New England-style clam chowder.  The hot cider was rimmed with cinnamon and wonderful on a chilly day, but we couldn’t savor it for too long.  Had to get back on the road for Portsmouth, NH.